No Zimbabwean Scribes nominated for CNN Multichoice 2014 African Journalist | Africa in the news No Zimbabwean Scribes nominated for CNN Multichoice 2014 African Journalist – Africa in the news
#Journalismisnotacrime Africa Democracy Journalism Press Repression

No Zimbabwean Scribes nominated for CNN Multichoice 2014 African Journalist

By Staff Reporter

  • Nine Kenyans are nominated 
  • Last Zimbabwean to win was Brian Hungwe in 1999
  • The award celebrates achievements in Investigative Journalism on the African continent
  • No clear whether the award would consider African journalists in diaspora


Finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2014 Competition were announced today by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel. The competition is now in its 19th year.

This year the competition received entries from 38 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

There are 28 finalists from 10 countries:  

 Daniel Biaou Adje, ORTB, Benin

Safia Berkouk, El Watan, Algeria

Vinayak Bhardwaj & Tabelo Timse, M&G Centre for Investigative Journalism, Mail & Guardian, South Africa

Romão Brandão, Jornal OPAÍS, Angola

Sean Christie, Freelance for Landbouweekblad and The Mail & Guardian, South Africa

Obinna Emelike, Business Day, Nigeria

Ben Ezeamalu & Emmanuel Ogala, Premium Times, Nigeria

Bob Koigi,, Kenya

Joseph Mathenge, Freelance for The Saturday Nation, Kenya

Anne Mawathe & Rashid Ibrahim, Citizen TV, Kenya

Patrick Mayoyo, Daily Nation, Kenya

Christine Muthee & Oliver Oscar Ochanda, Media Development in Africa (MEDEVA), Kenya

Dickson Ng’hily, The Guardian, Tanzania

John Muchangi Njiru, The Star Newspaper, Kenya

Olatunji Ololade, The Nation Newspaper, Nigeria

Bayo Olupohunda, Columnist, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

Ossène Ouattara,, Côte d’Ivoire

Brito Simango, Televisão de Moçambique, Moçambique

Joy Summers & Susan Comrie, Mnet Carte Blanche, South Africa

Suy Kahofi, Freelance for West Africa Democracy Radio, Senegal

Paballo Thekiso, Saturday Star, South Africa

Bento Venancio, Jornal Domingo, Moçambique

Evelyn Watta,, Kenya

Announcing the finalists, chairperson of the independent judging panel Ferial Haffajee said:

“2013 was a huge news year, and the stories from our continent set a global agenda. The judges were pleased with the quality of entries, and were impressed by the depth of specialist beat reporting. In addition, they noted the growing sophistication of the use of images and pictures across all platforms.”


The independent judging panel, chaired by Ferial Haffajee, Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa includes: Debo Adesina, Editor-in-Chief, Guardian Newspapers, Nigeria; Betty Dindi, Managing Editor of QTV, Nation Media Group, Kenya; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions ; Anton Harber, Caxton Professor of Journalism at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; Joel Kibazo, Director of Communications, Africa Development Bank;Arlindo Lopes, Regional Regulatory GM, MultiChoice Angola; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media;  Kim Norgaard, CNN Africa Bureau Chief; Aires Walter dos Santos,  Account Executive, iSenta Comunicação & Imagem SA, Angola.

The History

The ‘CNN African Journalist of the Year Competition’ was established in August 1995 to encourage, promote and recognise excellence in African journalism. In the early nineties Edward Boateng, then Regional Director of Turner Broadcasting (CNN’s parent company), was travelling around the African continent on business. During his travels he became concerned about the lack of respect journalists received and he decided to try and help them gain recognition for their hard work and commitment.

Working with Edward to launch the first competition were Gary Streiker, then CNN Nairobi Bureau Chief, the late esteemed photographer Mohamed Amin and the late Esom Alintah, then Secretary General of the African Business Roundtable.

The first Awards Ceremony took place in Ghana on August 11, 1995. There were six winners that year from Kenya, Ghana, Nigeria and Uganda. No Awards Ceremony was held in 1996 due to the death of Mohamed Amin.

The second ceremony was held in Johannesburg in March 1997. There were 10 winners from 7 countries.

In 1998 SABC became a partner in the competition, which was expanded to introduce specific categories. 9 winners were selected and came from Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa.

The following year, 1999, there were 10 finalists from Kenya, Liberia, Nigeria and South Africa.

The fifth ‘CNN African Journalist of the Year Competition’ garnered a considerable increase in the number of entries – with a total of 1159 entries received.  There were 12 winners, 6 in the print category, 5 in television and 1 in radio.  They came from Kenya, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa and Zimbabwe.   The Free Press Africa Award was introduced that year.  The category was established to recognise journalistic courage and integrity and reward a body of work enhancing the cause of media freedom. This Award went to Brian Hungwe working in Zimbabwe and Sorious Samura who covered the fighting in Sierra Leone.

In 2001, the ‘CNN African Journalist of the Year Competition’ received 1,954 entries.  The number of categories increased to twelve, with the introduction of an Arts & Culture Award.

In 2002, the competition was open to Francophone Africa for the first time, prompting entries from even more African nations (26 in all) and finalists came from 8 different countries.

The 2003 CNN African Journalist of the Year competition saw the addition of the Tourism Award. The competition received entries from 32 countries.

2004 saw the expansion of the Francophone category to include two awards, namely The General News Awards in Print/Photographic and Electronic Media (TV/Radio.)

2005 celebrated the 10th anniversary of the competition, renamed the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards, recognising the new partnership with MultiChoice. A Portuguese speaking category was also launched that year.  2005’s ceremony was hosted in Nairobi, Kenya.

In 2006, the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Award moved to Maputo, Mozambique. The competition again garnered record numbers, with over 1530 entries from across 43 countries. A new category was added, The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Award for HIV/AIDS Journalism.  In 2006, the Finalists’ Programme consisted of a two day media forum focusing on journalistic issues on the continent, culminating in the Awards Ceremony highlighting excellence in African journalism.   President Armando Guebuza of Mozambique attended the ceremony and made a keynote speech as well as presenting the overall award to the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2006.

In 2007, the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Award was held in Cape Town, South Africa. The competition, in its 12th year, received an even higher number of entries than the previous year, 1670 from 40 countries across the continent including French and Portuguese speaking Africa. The Finalists’ Programme included a Media Forum attended by journalists from across the continent and an interactive panel discussion on issues such as ‘HIV/AIDS:  Beyond the Public Debate – Human Rights, Gender Equity and Good Governance’.

In 2008, the awards celebrated their thirteenth year and were held in Accra, Ghana. The competition received 1912 entries from a record 44 countries throughout the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

2009 awards was the fourteenth year of the awards which were held in Durban, South Africa. The competition attracted 1665 entries from 38 nations across the African continent.


Comments are closed.

Powered by: Wordpress